SWAN inaugurates Interim Committee

SWAN inaugurates Interim Committee

The Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN) Edo State chapter has inaugurated a three-man Caretaker/Election Committee.

The Committee has Alhaji Hameed Braimah as its Chairman, Comrade Kingsley Abavo as Secretary, while Comrade Moses Agbonlahor is to serve as member.

According to a press statement signed by the Secretary, NUJ, Edo State Council, Titus Akhigbe, the Committee inauguration followed the expiration of the Comrades Aigbona/Opatola’s executive of the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN), Edo State Chapter since September, 2020.

In an emergency Congress on Friday, 22 January, 2021, presided over by the Chairman, Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Edo State Council, Comrade Sir Roland Osakue, members said it was necessary to fill the vacuum created by the expiration of the tenure of the last SWAN Executive in the State hence the inauguration of the Committee.

The Committee has the mandate to oversee the affairs of the Association and conduct a free, fair and credible election for a new executive to emerge at the end of two months.

By this development, the offices of the Governor and Deputy Governor of Edo State, Ministry of Youths, Edo State Sports Commision and all other sports stakeholders are to take note.

Congress advised stakeholders to officially deal with the new Committee in all issues regarding sports activities in the State.

In his acceptance speech, Hameed assured that the Committee would work for the good of all members of SWAN in the days ahead just as it sued for the support and cooperation of members of the Association.